Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support Our Sponsor
. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |SEARCH|
  • |Main INDEX|
  • 2005 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

    Latvia Index 2005

    Latvia Main Index

    . Feedback
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Latvia Government - 2005

      Country name:
      conventional long form: Republic of Latvia
      conventional short form: Latvia
      local long form: Latvijas Republika
      local short form: Latvija
      former: Latvian Soviet Socialist Republic

      Government type:
      parliamentary democracy


      Administrative divisions:
      26 counties (singular - rajons) and 7 municipalities*: Aizkraukles Rajons, Aluksnes Rajons, Balvu Rajons, Bauskas Rajons, Cesu Rajons, Daugavpils*, Daugavpils Rajons, Dobeles Rajons, Gulbenes Rajons, Jekabpils Rajons, Jelgava*, Jelgavas Rajons, Jurmala*, Kraslavas Rajons, Kuldigas Rajons, Liepaja*, Liepajas Rajons, Limbazu Rajons, Ludzas Rajons, Madonas Rajons, Ogres Rajons, Preilu Rajons, Rezekne*, Rezeknes Rajons, Riga*, Rigas Rajons, Saldus Rajons, Talsu Rajons, Tukuma Rajons, Valkas Rajons, Valmieras Rajons, Ventspils*, Ventspils Rajons

      21 August 1991 (from Soviet Union)

      National holiday:
      Independence Day, 18 November (1918); note - 18 November 1918 is the date Latvia declared itself independent from Soviet Russia; 4 May 1990 is when it declared the renewal of independence; 21 August 1991 is the date of de facto independence from the Soviet Union

      15 February 1922; an October 1998 amendment on Fundamental Human Rights replaced the 1991 Constitutional Law, which had supplemented the constitution

      Legal system:
      based on civil law system

      18 years of age; universal for Latvian citizens

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: President Vaira VIKE-FREIBERGA (since 8 July 1999)
      head of government: Prime Minister Aigars KALVITIS (since 2 December 2004)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers nominated by the prime minister and appointed by the Parliament
      elections: president reelected by Parliament for a four-year term; election last held 20 June 2003 (next to be held by June 2007); prime minister appointed by the president
      election results: Vaira VIKE-FREIBERGA reelected president; parliamentary vote - Vaira VIKE-FREIBERGA 88 of 94 votes cast

      Legislative branch:
      unicameral Parliament or Saeima (100 seats; members are elected by direct, popular vote to serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held 5 October 2002 (next to be held NA October 2006)
      election results: percent of vote by party - JL 23.9%, PCTVL 18.9%, TP 16.7%, ZZS 9.5%, First Party 7.6%, LNNK 5.4%; seats by party - JL 26, PCTVL 24, TP 21, ZZS 12, First Party 10, LNNK 7

      Judicial branch:
      Supreme Court (judges' appointments are confirmed by Parliament)

      Political parties and leaders:
      Alliance of the Greens and Farmers Union or ZZS [Augusts BRIGMANIS (Farmer's Union), Indulis EMSIS (Green Party)]; First Party of Latvia [Ainars SLESERS]; For Human Rights in a United Latvia or PCTVL [Jakovs PLINERS]; For Our Latvia or ML [Rihards Jablokovs]; Latvian National Democratic Party or LNDP [Jevgenijs Osiopovs]; Latvian National Front [Aivars GARDA]; Latvian Social-Democratic Workers Party (Social Democrats) or LSDSP [Alfred RUBIKS]; Latvia's Way Union or LC [Andris BERZINS]; Light of Latgale or LG; New Era Party or JL [Einars REPSE]; New Politics Party or JP [Sergejs DOLGOPOLOVS]; People's Harmony Party or TSP [Janis JURKANS]; People's Party or TP [Atis SLAKTERIS]; Social Democratic Union or SDS [Egils BALDZENS]; Union for the Fatherland and Freedom/LNNK or TB/LNNK [Janis STRAUME]; United Social Democratic Welfare Party or SLP [Juris ZURAVLOVS]; United Republican Party of Latvia or LARP

      Political pressure groups and leaders:
      Headquarters for the Protection of Russian Schools (SHTAB) [Aleksandr KAZAKOV]

      International organization participation:
      Australia Group, BIS, CBSS, CE, EAPC, EBRD, EIB, EU (new member), FAO, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICCt, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC, IOM, ISO (correspondent), ITU, MIGA, NATO, NIB, NSG, OAS (observer), OPCW, OSCE, PCA, PFP, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UPU, WCO, WEU (member affiliate), WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Maris RIEKSTINS
      chancery: 4325 17th Street NW, Washington, DC 20011
      telephone: [1] (202) 726-8213, 8214
      FAX: [1] (202) 726-6785

      Diplomatic representation from the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Catherine TODD-BAILEY
      embassy: 7 Raina Boulevard, Riga LV-1510
      mailing address: American Embassy Riga, PSC 78, Box Riga, APO AE 09723
      telephone: [371] 703-6200
      FAX: [371] 782-0047

      Flag description:
      three horizontal bands of maroon (top), white (half-width), and maroon

      NOTE: The information regarding Latvia on this page is re-published from the 2005 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Latvia Government 2005 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Latvia Government 2005 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -
    Revised 16-Feb-06
    Copyright © 2021 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)