Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |SEARCH|
  • |Main INDEX|
  • 2005 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

    American Samoa Index 2005

    American Samoa Main Index

    . Feedback
  • Home PageCountry Index

    American Samoa Government - 2005

      Country name:
      conventional long form: Territory of American Samoa
      conventional short form: American Samoa
      abbreviation: AS

      Dependency status:
      unincorporated and unorganized territory of the US; administered by the Office of Insular Affairs, US Department of the Interior

      Government type:

      Pago Pago

      Administrative divisions:
      none (territory of the US); there are no first-order administrative divisions as defined by the US Government, but there are three districts and two islands* at the second order; Eastern, Manu'a, Rose Island*, Swains Island*, Western

      none (territory of the US)

      National holiday:
      Flag Day, 17 April (1900)

      ratified 2 June 1966, in effect 1 July 1967

      Legal system:

      18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: President George W. BUSH of the US (since 20 January 2001) and Vice President Richard B. CHENEY (since 20 January 2001)
      head of government: Governor Togiola TULAFONO (since 7 April 2003)
      cabinet: cabinet made up of 12 department directors
      elections: US president and vice president elected on the same ticket for four-year terms; governor and lieutenant governor elected on the same ticket by popular vote for four-year terms; election last held 2 and 16 November 2004 (next to be held November 2008)
      election results: Togiola TULAFONO elected governor; percent of vote - Togiola TULAFONO 55.7%, Afoa Moega LUTU 44.3%

      Legislative branch:
      bicameral Fono or Legislative Assembly consists of the House of Representatives (21 seats - 20 of which are elected by popular vote and 1 is an appointed, nonvoting delegate from Swains Island; members serve two-year terms) and the Senate (18 seats; members are elected from local chiefs and serve four-year terms)
      elections: House of Representatives - last held 2 November 2004 (next to be held November 2006); Senate - last held 2 November 2004 (next to be held November 2008)
      election results: House of Representatives - percent of vote by party - NA%; seats by party - NA; Senate - percent of vote by party - NA%; seats by party - independents 18
      note: American Samoa elects one nonvoting representative to the US House of Representatives; election last held 2 November 2004 (next to be held November 2006); results - Eni F. H. FALEOMAVAEGA (Democrat) reelected as delegate

      Judicial branch:
      High Court (chief justice and associate justices are appointed by the US Secretary of the Interior)

      Political parties and leaders:
      Democratic Party [Oreta M. TOGAFAU]; Republican Party [Tautai A. F. FAALEVAO]

      Political pressure groups and leaders:

      International organization participation:
      Interpol (subbureau), IOC, UPU

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      none (territory of the US)

      Diplomatic representation from the US:
      none (territory of the US)

      Flag description:
      blue, with a white triangle edged in red that is based on the outer side and extends to the hoist side; a brown and white American bald eagle flying toward the hoist side is carrying two traditional Samoan symbols of authority, a staff and a war club

      NOTE: The information regarding American Samoa on this page is re-published from the 2005 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of American Samoa Government 2005 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about American Samoa Government 2005 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -
    Revised 16-Feb-06
    Copyright © 2021 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)