Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |SEARCH|
  • |Main INDEX|
  • 2005 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

    Tuvalu Index 2005

    Tuvalu Main Index

    . Feedback
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Tuvalu Government - 2005

      Country name:
      conventional long form: none
      conventional short form: Tuvalu
      former: Ellice Islands
      note: "Tuvalu" means "group of eight," referring to the country's eight traditionally inhabited islands

      Government type:
      constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary democracy; began debating republic status in 1992

      Funafuti; note - administrative offices are located in Vaiaku Village on Fongafale Islet

      Administrative divisions:

      1 October 1978 (from UK)

      National holiday:
      Independence Day, 1 October (1978)

      1 October 1978

      Legal system:

      18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Governor General Filoimea TELITO (since 15 April 2005)
      head of government: Prime Minister Maatia TOAFA (since 11 October 2004)
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the governor general on the recommendation of the prime minister
      elections: the monarch is hereditary; governor general appointed by the monarch on the recommendation of the prime minister; prime minister and deputy prime minister elected by and from the members of Parliament; election last held 11 October 2004 (next to be held following parliamentary elections in 2006)
      election results: Saufatu SOPOANGA resigned parliamentary seat on 27 August 2004 following no-confidence vote on 25 August 2004; succeeded by Deputy Prime Minister Maatia TOAFA in an acting capacity on 27 August 2004; Maatia TOAFA confirmed Prime Minister in a Parliamentary election (8-7 vote) on 11 October 2004

      Legislative branch:
      unicameral Parliament or Fale I Fono, also called House of Assembly (15 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held 25 July 2002 (next to be held NA 2006)
      election results: percent of vote - NA%; seats - independents 15

      Judicial branch:
      High Court (a chief justice visits twice a year to preside over its sessions; its rulings can be appealed to the Court of Appeal in Fiji); eight Island Courts (with limited jurisdiction)

      Political parties and leaders:
      there are no political parties but members of Parliament usually align themselves in informal groupings

      Political pressure groups and leaders:

      International organization participation:
      ACP, AsDB, C, FAO, IFRCS (observer), IMO, ITU, OPCW, PIF, Sparteca, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UPU, WHO

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      Tuvalu does not have an embassy in the US - the country's only diplomatic post is in Fiji - Tuvalu does, however, have a UN office located at 800 2nd Avenue, Suite 400D, New York, New York 10017, telephone: [1] (212) 490-0534

      Diplomatic representation from the US:
      the US does not have an embassy in Tuvalu; the US ambassador to Fiji is accredited to Tuvalu

      Flag description:
      light blue with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant; the outer half of the flag represents a map of the country with nine yellow five-pointed stars symbolizing the nine islands

      NOTE: The information regarding Tuvalu on this page is re-published from the 2005 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Tuvalu Government 2005 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Tuvalu Government 2005 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -
    Revised 16-Feb-06
    Copyright © 2021 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)