Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support Our Sponsor
. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |SEARCH|
  • |Main INDEX|
  • 2005 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

    Nauru Index 2005

    Nauru Main Index

    . Feedback
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Nauru Government - 2005

      Country name:
      conventional long form: Republic of Nauru
      conventional short form: Nauru
      former: Pleasant Island

      Government type:

      no official capital; government offices in Yaren District

      Administrative divisions:
      14 districts; Aiwo, Anabar, Anetan, Anibare, Baiti, Boe, Buada, Denigomodu, Ewa, Ijuw, Meneng, Nibok, Uaboe, Yaren

      31 January 1968 (from the Australia-, NZ-, and UK-administered UN trusteeship)

      National holiday:
      Independence Day, 31 January (1968)

      29 January 1968; amended 17 May 1968 (Constitution Day)

      Legal system:
      acts of the Nauru Parliament and British common law

      20 years of age; universal and compulsory

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: President Ludwig SCOTTY (since 26 October 2004); note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government
      head of government: President Ludwig SCOTTY (since 26 October 2004); note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president from among the members of Parliament
      elections: president elected by Parliament for a three-year term; election last held 23 October 2004 (next to be held NA 2007)
      election results: Ludwig SCOTTY was unopposed in the parliamentary elections for president

      Legislative branch:
      unicameral Parliament (18 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve three-year terms)
      elections: last held 3 May 2003 (next to be held not later than May 2006)
      election results: percent of vote - NA%; seats - Nauru First Party 3, independents 15

      Judicial branch:
      Supreme Court

      Political parties and leaders:
      loose multiparty system; Democratic Party [Kennan ADEANG]; Nauru Party (informal) [leader NA]; Naoero Amo (Nauru First) Party [leader NA]

      Political pressure groups and leaders:

      International organization participation:
      ACP, AsDB, C, FAO, ICAO, ICCt, Interpol, IOC, ITU, OPCW, PIF, Sparteca, SPC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UPU, WHO

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      Nauru does not have an embassy in the US, but does have a UN office at 800 2nd Avenue, Suite 400 D, New York, New York 10017; telephone: (212) 937-0074
      consulate(s): Agana (Guam)

      Diplomatic representation from the US:
      the US does not have an embassy in Nauru; the US Ambassador to Fiji is accredited to Nauru

      Flag description:
      blue with a narrow, horizontal, yellow stripe across the center and a large white 12-pointed star below the stripe on the hoist side; the star indicates the country's location in relation to the Equator (the yellow stripe) and the 12 points symbolize the 12 original tribes of Nauru

      NOTE: The information regarding Nauru on this page is re-published from the 2005 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Nauru Government 2005 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Nauru Government 2005 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -
    Revised 16-Feb-06
    Copyright © 2021 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)